It should be FUNDAY Friday and  I’m glad it’s the weekend but I work 12 hours, boo. Maybe I’ll get off early 😉

Breakfast today:

I made overnight oats but I tried a new recipe and I wasn’t a fan 😦  I’ll stick to my normal Overnight oats. It keep me full for hours!

So instead, on my way to work at 7 am I had an apple.  When I got to work  at about 8:30 I had a banana with peanut butter. ( I stole this photo, I forgot to take a pic)

Peanut butter usually gives me energy and keeps me feeling full longer!

I also had 2 chocolate covered pretzels. This is what they do to me at work! MODERATION: I only had two!

phone erase 005

Snack:

Protein Shake- Beverly International chocolate flavor

phone erase 006

Snacks for me usually include some type of protein shake or bar. I try to get a protein bar that has less than 10 grams of sugar. Some other smart snacks in my meal planning include:

  • apple with peanut butter
  • celery with peanut butter
  • Protein bars that I like:  Kind bars +protein, Luna bars (specifically blueberry)
  • Trail mix, almonds, or cashews
  • Veggies with humus
  • Mini Baby-bell cheese

Here are some more fun facts for Friday:

Pinned Image

Other Fun Health Facts:

  • Jumping rope is a great way to burn calories
  • Most of the fiber in fruit is in the peel
  • Spaghetti Squash can be used in place of pasta
  • Oatmeal with fruit is a good source of fiber
  • Most restaurant entrees are actually 2 servings
  • Potatoes and broccoli have just as much potassium as bananas if not more!

One other thing I’ve been meaning to try is Kale Chips. Here is a great recipe!

Roasted Kale Chips 

kale chips

Ingredients:

One small bunch of kale
3 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 Tablespoon Apple Cider vinegar
sea salt to taste (about 1/4 teaspoon)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cut away inner ribs from each kale leaf and discard, then tear the kale leaves into same-size pieces. Wash torn kale pieces and spin dry in a salad spinner or dry with paper towels until they’re very dry.
Mix oil, vinegar and salt together in a small bowl then pour the mixture into large Ziploc bag (or use a bowl if you don’t mind getting your hands oily.) Add the kale pieces to the bag and distribute the mixture evenly on the kale until all pieces are evenly coated.

Arrange kale leaves in a single layer on a baking sheet, then roast until they are mostly crisp, about 20-25 minutes. These are great if you’re craving something crispy, but they’re not a dip-able chip.

Have a good Friday!

