Lunch at work yesterday was leftover pot roast which was very tasty on the 2nd day. I also had some blueberries.

bb2

Blueberries are full of antioxidants, fiber, and one cup has less than 100 calories!

My snacks for the afternoon included a KIND + protein bar, and a  mini babybell light.

phone erase 014

phone erase 015

Later in the evening I had a piece of Ezekial toast with peanut butter. I couldn’t wait for dinner.

pb bread

“Take also unto thee wheat, and barley, and beans, and lentils and millet, and spelt and put them in one vessel…” Ezekiel 4:9®

Advantages of Ezekial Bread over regular wheat bread:

  • Source of Complete Protein – Rated 84.3% as efficient as the highest source of protein (comparable to that of milk or eggs)
  • Contains 18 Amino Acids – Including all 9 essential amino acids
  • Increased Digestibility – Sprouting breaks down starches in grains into simple sugars so your body can digest them easily.
  • Increased Absorption of Minerals – Sprouting breaks down enzyme inhibitors, so your body can more easily absorb calcium, magnesium, iron, copper and zinc.
  • Increased Vitamin C – Sprouting produces vitamin C.
  • Increased Vitamin B – Sprouting increases the vitamin B2, B5 & B6.
  • Great source of Fiber – Combining sprouted grains and legumes gives a good amount of natural fiber in each serving.

Since my breakfast was a flop I felt starving all day!

For dinner (around 9 pm) when I got home from work I wanted to try out my new PALEO bread so I made a Pesto BLT (with turkey bacon).

blog10 018

The slices of bread are very small compared to regular bread or Ezekial Bread.

Paleo bread

The bread was very thick and dense so I ended up taking off the top piece. Overall I do like the taste of it. One piece has 9 grams of protein, 100 calories, 5 grams of carbs, and 4 grams of fiber.

blt

blt 2

blt 3

I also had a greek yogurt. Chobani is my favorite brand.

And for dessert 2 oreos! OMG I can’t remember the last time I had an oreo!

oreo

 

Healthy POV:

Sometimes it is hard to incorporate fruits and veggies into every meal. I know my step son only likes broccoli if it is covered in cheese and sometimes he will eat corn. He will eat apples if you peel the skin and bananas too.  How do we get kids to eat more of these foods?

I try to put a fruit salad together sometimes or have apples peeled and ready with dinner.  Maybe if he sees me eating these things he will try them too?!  Here are some fun recipes that you could try to get your kids those vitamins and minerals they need!

Some Things to Remember about Fruits and Vegetables that you can teach your kids:

  • Choose dark green leafy veggies for strong bones and healthy eyes
  • Choose yellow and orange fruits and veggies for a strong immune system and glowing skin
  • Choose red fruits and veggies for to protect your heart
  • Choose white/brown fruits and veggies for a healthy heart and blood pressure

 

Saturday’s WOD- Back/Shoulders/Cardio 

 

What is your favorite brand/flavor of Greek yogurt?

