First of all I can’t begin to say how deeply saddened I am by the tragedy in Connecticut yesterday.  I started tearing up just reading about those who have lost their lives, especially those little ones.  My prayers go out to all the families involved in this horrible disaster. 

Friday- Hopefully the start to a wonderful weekend! 

I have some great things planned this weekend so I am very excited!  I wanted to post a little Healthy swap edition since we are beginning to experience lots of Christmas parties, etc.  At work there is always a treat sitting around that a coworker or family has brought it so I know this can be a tempting time in the sweets department.

The holidays can be a challenging time for those who are watching calories or trying not to indulge too much on the sweets.  Believe me I know! I really want a cupcake like every other day! You can eat and drink your favorite things still by adding a little spin to save calories and fat.  Here are just a few of the options:

Coffee Shop Favorites:
Ditch it: Peppermint White Chocolate Mocha with whipped cream (Calories: 410, Fat: 15g per 12-ounce beverage)
Dish it: Pumpkin Spiced Latte made with skim milk, no whipped cream (Calories: 200, Fat: 0g, per 12-ounce beverage)
Why: Seasonal drinks can be very tempting. But without paying attention, your delicious holiday beverage can be equivalent to the calories in a meal with a significant amount of saturated fat from milk and cream. That doesn’t mean you have to miss out on the fun! Order a pumpkin spiced latte made with skim milk and skip the whipped cream for a nonfat treat with half the calories.

Non Alcoholic Drink:
Ditch it: Non-alcoholic Eggnog, (Calories: 343, Fat: 19 g per 1-cup serving)
Dish it: Hot chocolate (no sugar added) (Calories: 60, Fat: 1g for one packet)
Why: Don’t gulp down your calories and fat with eggnog. Research shows we don’t register nutrients the same way from beverages than we would from food – so you’ll probably end up eating close to the same amount at holiday dinner even if you’ve had a couple of eggnogs before. Warm up to a prepackaged hot cocoa and add some lite whipped cream (15 cal/2 Tbs) for a treat post meal.

Dessert:
Ditch it: Pecan Pie (Calories: 676, Fat: 40.8 g, Sugar: 39.4g per 129.5g per serving)
Dish it: Pumpkin Pie (Calories: 161, Fat: 4.8g, Sugar: 15.2g per 129.5g per serving)
Why: Pecan pie is loaded with sugar – so take pride in serving pumpkin pie! Not only is it a holiday staple, it’s a relatively healthy dessert to serve when made with low fat evaporated milk. Plus, pumpkin is full of beta carotene – an antioxidant that promotes eye health and can help fight against heart disease and certain cancers

Cold Appetizer:
Ditch it: Cheese & crackers (Calories: 306, Fat: 16g per (2 ounce & 5 cracker serving))
Dish it: Shrimp cocktail (Calories: 51, Fat: 0.4 g per 5 medium-sized shrimp with cocktail sauce)
Why: Cheese may be a great source of protein and calcium but the saturated fat content really adds up. Instead, choose a virtually non-fat shrimp cocktail for a light and decadent appetizer.

Speaking of treats, look at all the ones that were at work Friday
This picture doesn’t include the Christmas cookies and the chocolate chip cookies either!
phone erase more 106
phone erase more 104
I split a cupcake with my friend 🙂 It was an apple cinnamon cupcake and it was very good.
cc
On Friday I ate my breakfast on my way to work. I woke up so hungry!  I made brown sugar coconut protein oatmeal.  It was very tasty!
oats
In the mix:
1 packet low sugar brown sugar oatmeal
liquid egg whites
Topping:
pecans, maple granola (just a small handful, prob a bout 1 tbsp), and crunchy  peanut butter
oats 2
oats 3
veggies and humus with a Steaz 🙂
lunch
steaz
A blueberry Luna Bar was my afternoon snack.
phone erase more 114
luna
I went straight to the gym after work. I worked on Back and Shoulders.  You can look back at any of my exercises on my fitness page because my workout was pretty similar.  I did throw in some extra abs too.
ABS:
Elbow Plank-  Hold for 45 seconds
Side plank- Touch elbow to knee- ten times
Repeat sequence 3 times
Elliptical for 15 minutes
phone erase more 118
I didn’t have Thai peanut sauce so I made my own and it came out a little thicker than I had hoped. But it still tasted good.
I also used broccoli slaw instead of coleslaw.
phone erase more 119
For the 24 Days of Togetherness we picked “watch a Christmas movie” so the plan was to watch Elf.
phone erase more 122
But the CD was scratched 😦  So we watched Home Alone.  One of my other favorites!  So classic.
Alec wanted popcorn for the movie so we made some from scratch!  If that’s possible with popcorn  🙂
food 008
food 009
food 010
food 012
We melted butter and used white cheddar for seasoning!
food 015
It was a good night!
Be looking for a MAD HECTIC oatmeal free GIVEAWAY next week!  This protein oatmeal is to die for!
QUESTION OF THE DAY:
What is your favorite Christmas movie!?
