For breakfast I had a turkey bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich on a whole wheat toasted sandwich thin! Delicious!  I used the laughing cow cinnamon cream cheese spread.  I also like turkey bacon better than regular bacon these days.

food 002 food 003 food 005

I enjoyed my meal with a cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

food 008

 At the gym I worked on Chest and did a short tabata!

Chest:

Flat chest Press Machine : 12, 10, 8, 6

Incline chest press with dumbbells – super set with dumbbell flys

Seated Chest Press machine

Chest Fly Machine – super set with standing oblique crunches

Tabata:

Winter Tabata

After the gym I got a little shopping and drank my cookies n cream protein shake.

 I picked up lunch for myself and my mother in law.  Then she gave me a much-needed manicure!

For lunch I had a chopped chicken cobb salad from Panera with an iced tea.

salad 3

BLOG erase 062

salad 2

salad 4

BLOG erase 072

My afternoon snack was some mixed nuts (almonds, pistachios, and cashews) with 2 mini babybel’s.

food 012

I ate two mini babybel’s because I was still hungry!

food 014

For dinner we had homemade pizza on whole wheat crust.  On top of my half was fresh mozzarella cheese, orange pepper, and spicy sausage.

pizza 002

sauce

pizza 006

pizza 007

My friend Erin told me about this diet she used to do by Jorge Cruise.   I decided I would research it a little.  It’s the Belly Fat cure and the main thing you watch is your SUGAR and CARBS!  I thought WOW this would be hard to follow.

foooodddyy 010

I don’t like following diets, because If I cheat at all I feel like I am failing.  Since I am not trying to lose weight (If anything trying to gain weight from muscle) I probably will not follow this completely, but it is a good guide to help watch your intake!

Basically its an S/C system

S= Sugar

C= Carbs

The total sugar you are allowed to eat in one day is only 15 grams and you are allowed to have 6 servings of carbs (120 grams).

So your S/C = 15/6

0-4 g of carbs doesn’t count- so this is free.

5-20 grams of carbs = 1 serving

21-40 = 2 servings

41-60 = 3 servings

Now, I eat a lot of fruit, veggies, and Greek yogurt so If I truly followed this then I would go over my sugar for the day by just eating one piece of fruit or one cup of greek yogurt!  Another reason I cannot follow this diet completely!  If you are truly trying to lose weight and belly fat, then you would want to watch these things more closely.

According to Shape.com “The American Heart Association recommends no more than 26 grams of sugar per day for women, or 36 grams per day for men.   And for men and women ages 19 to 30, the USDA recommends two cups of fruit per day.  But depending on which fruit is picked, this could be bad news for fruit lovers: Just two cups of sliced bananas adds up to the maximum recommended amount, clocking in at 36 grams of sugar!”

I like to eat fruit for the other added benefits of vitamins and minerals, so I am not saying don’t eat fruit,  but if you want to follow Jorge Cruise’s diet plan you would have to watch how much fruit you consume.

I do not have his book, so I don’t know all the rules about eating fruits, veggies etc, because both of these foods contain sugars and carbs!  If you want to know more you can do some research online or buy his material.

If you really want to follow this diet you must read LABELS and research the food you are going to eat if you eat out at restaurants a lot.   Many foods have so much more sugar than you think!

Ketchup, sauces, jelly, salad dressings, etc all have hidden sugars that we don’t really think about.

Examples: 

There is approx 4 grams of sugar in 1 tbsp of ketchup, and we all know when we use ketchup we use way more than 1 tbsp!

Did you know that the average american consumes 189 grams of sugar per day! (Excerpt from Jorge Cruise’s Book The Belly Fat Cure)

“The average apple or just one banana, based on the size, is about 14 to 20 grams of sugar. That’s fine if you have kids at home that are trying to gain weight or are trying to grow, but if you’re trying to get smaller, what you want to go for are the berries, like the blueberries, blackberries, raspberries … they’re the low-sugar fruits.”  (Tip from Jorge Cruise)

I thought I would track my meals for the day and  just to see how close I was to this diet.  My results:

Breakfast : 2/1

Snack : 1/0

Lunch : 3/1

Snack: 2/1

Snack : 10/1

(one clementine!)

Dinner : 4/2

(each slice of pizza had 22 g of carbs so this is 2 servings, not 1 : I had one slice)

Snack : 8/1

Blueberries with lite cool whip (fruit sugar 7 whip 2, carbs 10)

BB 001

Total: 31/7

I think I did pretty well for the day, since I was actually trying to watch my intake!  I am pretty sure on a typical day I eat way more than 15 grams of sugar, especially with my fruit, protein bars, and Greek yogurt!

I tried to follow this strictly today just to see if I could do it and I still had  at least 30 grams of sugar if I counted right!

 I will try to stick with the American Heart’s recommendation, which I still went over because of the fruit I ate, which I love!

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What is your favorite LOW CARB or LOW SUGAR snack??

PS. Be looking out for a Mad Hectic Oatmeal Giveaway this week!!

