Weekly Meal & Fitness Plan Dec 31st:

 Starting the New Year off Right

This weeks meal plan:

  • Monday : New Year’s Eve: Appetizers at Jenny’s House
  • Tuesday : Skillet Sweet Potato, Sausage, and Spinach Hash
  • Wednesday : Crockpot shredded BBQ with Stubbs BBQ Sauce:  Stubb uses only  finest natural ingredients. That’s why Stubb’s line of sauces, marinades and rubs are all natural, gluten-free, and contain no high fructose corn syrup.
  • Thursday : Chicken and Shrimp Stir Fry with Brown Rice
  • Friday:  Breakfast (Who doesn’t love breakfast for dinner?)
  • Saturday: My Work Party
  • Sunday:  TBA

Fitness Plan:

  • Monday:  Gym with my sis- Cardio & Biceps
  • Tuesday:  Gym with my sis- prob work on legs & Cardio
  • Wednesday:  Crossfit
  • Thursday:  Crossfit
  • Friday:  Gym- Not sure what I will work on yet, depends on what we did in crossfit
  • Saturday: OFF
  • Sunday:  Crossfit

Sunday night for Dinner we had turkey burgers with a fried egg on top, with homemade sweet potato fries, yuuuum!

blog food 003

After dinner I made a cheese ball that I am taking to our friends house for NYE along with all the sweets I made, such as Red Velvet Cake Pops (or balls, since they aren’t on a stick) and cookies.

fooooodie 025

I got the cheese ball recipe from Becky and it looks awesome. I can’t wait to try it. It has to chill in the refrigerator overnight, and gets rolled in chopped pecans later.

blog food 004

blog food 005

Not my Grandma’s Cheeseball 😉

Ingredients:

  • Makes 1 Cheeseball
    • 8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
    • 10 ounces Old English Cheese (I only had 5 ounces, so that’s what I used)
    • 8 ounces sharp cheddar, shredded
    • 1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
    • 1/4 cup onion, minced
    • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
    • 12 ounces pecans, chopped

    Directions

    Mix all ingredients (except for pecans) in a mixer (I used a hand mixer) until well-blended and creamy. Wrap in saran wrap and store in refrigerator 6 hours or overnight. Roll in pecans and serve with whatever you like!

blog food 006

After chilling overnight:

cheeseball 008

This is what it should look like with crackers when its all said and done:

Cheeseball 1

For dessert I had some blackberries and blueberries, topped with cool whip.

blog food 008

blog food 009

If you didn’t know, I have been trying to watch my carb and sugar intake so a sweet treat with little sugar is cool whip.  2 tbsp only has 3 grams of carbs and 1 gram of sugar!  You can use this as a topping on fruit, or anything really! (Since I already killed the sweets department with cookies and cake pops)

Healthy Point of View (POV): No-Sweat Metabolism Booster:

EAT MORE PROTEIN

A study from the Journal of the American Medical Association found that people who were fed a low- carb, high-protein diet burned 300 calories a day more than those on a low-fat diet, even though they were consuming the same number of calories.  This is what I try to include some protein in every meal and snack 🙂

Good Sources of protein:

  • Fish
  • Poultry
  • Red meat
  • Eggs
  • Nuts
  • Nut Butters
  • Seeds
  • Beans
  • Lentils
  • Milk
  • Milk products
  • Yogurt

Even on my “OFF” days I still like to drink a protein shake or include protein in my meals because my muscles are still recovering and rebuilding from the previous days at the gym.

BREAKFAST

This morning  before I hit the gym I attempted making a veggie omelet.  I feel like I was skimpy on the veggies yesterday so this morning I had to make up for it.

zBreakfast 001

In it was 2 eggs, 2 egg whites, cheese. broccoli, turkey bacon, and orange pepper.  On top: rosted tomatoes, and avocado. Delicious!  It made enough for two people, so I saved some.

zBreakfast 002

Leftovers:

zBreakfast 004

1/2 of a grapefruit on the side.

zBreakfast 005

PS. Grapefruit is sooooo good for you!  This fruit is a metabolism booster and the compounds in it aid in FAT BURNING!  One large grapefruit has only 53 calories!

I hope everyone has a good New Years Eve! Does anyone have any crazy plans?

