New Year: New Challenge

30 day challenge

 I have done this challenge before and believe me it starts out very hard, but get’s easier as you go and you won’t even crave sweets after a couple of weeks!

Sometimes I will have major cravings for carbs like pasta, or pizza so you have to be careful  🙂

Whatever you do, try not to give in!  Just think of how great you will feel in a month!  I do eat some food that has sugar in it, but I do not count these as a sweet (such as cereal, protein bars, greek yogurt.) I also have my work holiday party this weekend: It is a beer and wine tasting, so I will be enjoying some of that!

(When I think of sweets, I think of real sweets like cupcakes, cookies etc.)

Some replacements for sweets that I like are:

  • Apples with peanut butter
  • Peanut butter on anything 🙂
  • Fruit with cool whip (2 tbsp of cool whip only has a couple of grams of sugar in it)
  • Protein Shakes
  • Cereal (I like Special K Protein Plus)- It does have SOME sugar, but I don’t count this as a sweet!
  • Protein Bars (try to keep the sugar count under 10)
  • Hot Tea with stevia
  • Greek Yogurt : I know this has sugar, but I don’t count this 😉
  • Apple Nachos (see below)

For breakfast I had leftovers: veggie omelet, surprisingly enough it still tasted great! I also had some cinnamon almond butter oatmeal that my husband helped me finish.

omelet

oatmeal

Cinnamon Almond Butter Oatmeal:

  • One packet plain oatmeal
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 packet stevia
  • Cinnamon to taste

Top with Peanut Butter!

I woke up late today, but I still managed to get a workout in:

Starting the new year off on the right foot Leg!

New year leg circuit

I also worked on my butt 🙂

Lay on the floor in a bridge position for 3 minutes:

1st minute:  Feet flat- squeeze buttocks (small tight movements)

2nd minute:  Raise up to toes-and repeat squeezing

3rd minute:  Flat feet, alternate squeezing R and L buttock

This should burn when you are done!!

I wanted to show you my new top from Nike that I got for Christmas. I am absolutely in love with it!

2013-01-01_12-56-45_797

It also has thumb holes!

2013-01-01_12-57-04_47

I drank my cookies n cream protein shake when I got home. This taste so good, it’s almost like a dessert!

New Years Eve 2012-2013 070

Lunch was weird today…It was about 3:o0 and I just needed something to hold me over because I wasn’t starving. I was craving cereal so I had a bowl of Special K Protein Plus with some string cheese.

new year 004

My snack was APPLE NACHOS!

1 Apple drizzled with melted peanut butter. Topped with chopped pecans and coconut!

apple nachos

apple nachos 2

new year 010

So satisfying!

We were supposed to have Skillet sweet potato, sausage, and spinach hash for dinner but I didn’t feel like cooking much so we had Laura’s Lean chili with some whole wheat pasta noodles.   I had my water with lemon (One new years resolution is to drink more water!)

dinner 002

I also had a Greek yogurt after dinner!

How was your New Year’s Day?

What are your favorite Non sweet treats?

