Hello everyone, what a weekend!!

I woke up this morning, and I wasn’t the only tired one :

2013-01-06_08-07-23_832

Saturday:

I had to go into work for a few hours to help move our clinic.  I work at a pediatric hospital and we moved from the 5th floor to the 1st floor…  So I did plenty of walking around and taking the steps a lot.  I counted this for my cardio for the day 🙂  4 hours of non stop walking, organizing etc.  Yea that counts, its kind of like the stair master!

2013-01-05_12-31-52_626

For breakfast I had Blueberry French Toast Overnight Oats.

oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk (unsweetened vanilla)
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed (milled)
  • 1 tbsp chia seed
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • 1 tsp stevia blend (or brown sugar if you like)
  • 2 tbsp almond milk (to add in the morning)OO

Instructions:

Put all of the above ingredients into a container or bowl.  I put mine into a container with a lid so I can easily take it to work with me. Let sit overnight The Chia seeds help thicken the oats and makes it AWESOME! Some people add yogurt, but I don’t like mine with yogurt.  I think it is just as good without it!  In the morning, stir and test the mixture to make sure it is the desired thickness that you want.

I added a little bit of extra almond milk in the a.m. because I don’t like mine as thick.

Stir and enjoy with whatever toppings you LOVE!

Toppings:  Chopped pecans, sliced almonds, fresh blueberries

love toppings

After work I headed to SNAP to get my workout on!

 I still needed to do arms, since crossfit has KILLED my shoulders this week, and my legs feel like jelly most days .

So here is a good upper body workout for you, plus some ab burners, oh yea, feel the burn.

ultimate upper body

I usually don’t do biceps and triceps on the same day, but I thought I would give it a whirl, and it was tough!

The Ab Roll is one of the exercises that really makes my abs sore the next day, which I love.

 Sit ups are good, but I can never say I was sore the next day from them.  The ab roll out, you will definitely feel the burn during and after.  Push yourself to roll farther out each time!

abs circuit

After the gym I came home and make Eric and myself a nice COLD protein shake!

collage 2

2 scoops chocolate protein powder

2 tbsp PB2

1.5 cups almond milk

2 handfuls of ice

Blend until smooth

Enjoy!

The Evening:

I didn’t have a very big dinner, just some veggies and leftover quiche muffins, so no picture 😦

But I didn’t have a big dinner because we went to my work Belated Holiday Party at Everything’s D’Vine and I knew I would be eating some app’s and doing some drinking 🙂

Everything's d' Vine - Cincinnati, OH

Source

Everything’s D’Vine is a craft beer and wine shop where everything is under $ 20.00 and they do beer and wine tastings.  We got 6 pours of beer and 6 pours of wine, but the lady was SUPER nice, so I’m pretty sure I had more than that!

Work XMas party Jan 2013 010

I am usually a Moscato/Riesling kind of girl, but this tasting totally changed my mind about wine!

I actually liked the Pino, Chardonnay and some of the reds, who knew!?!

Work XMas party Jan 2013 011

Work XMas party Jan 2013 019

Work XMas party Jan 2013 014

The beer on the other hand, not my favorite: I think I only liked one of them.

Work XMas party Jan 2013 008

Work XMas party Jan 2013 009

Work XMas party Jan 2013 018

Work XMas party Jan 2013 021

This was one of the snacks that we could munch on, how funny!?!

When was the last time you had one of these cheesy puffs?

Work XMas party Jan 2013 016

Have a good rest of the weekend!

How is your weekend going?

What is your favorite wine?

