National Pizza Week

So word around town is that this week is National Pizza Week, omg what??  That’s crazy!

2013-01-07_18-54-51_935

So for dinner last night, I had pizza (which was already planned before I knew it was National Pizza Week) I had Dewey’s Pizza to be exact.

Before pizza I had the House salad: A mix of Field Greens and Romaine Lettuce, toasted Pine Nuts, Sun-Dried Cranberries and Goat Cheese with the apple cider vinaigrette on the side.

2013-01-07_18-44-44_417

We split the Green Lantern which had Red Sauce, Light Mozzarella Cheese, Minced Garlic, Goat Cheese, Artichokes, and Pesto- I love pesto!!

We also got the Billy Goat which had Olive Oil, Minced Garlic, Light Mozzarella Cheese, Goat Cheese, Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Green Peppers, and Fresh Tomatoes-

pizza

HOLY GOOD!

Yesterday’s breakfast was;

EGGS-ON-THE-GO

blogging food 008

1 whole egg
1/3 cup liquid egg whites
S & P

Microwave for 2 minutes;  stirring about every 30 seconds.
Sprinkle cheese on top.

eggs on go

I literally ate them on the go- in the car on the way to work 🙂  When I got to work I finished my breakfast with a grapefruit.

blogging food 002

When I was little my mom would cut the grapefruit in half and sprinkle sugar ALL over it!  I loved this when I was little although it wasn’t the healthiest.   I didn’t think I would like grapefruit without sugar, but I was wrong.

If you don’t like grapefruit because it is too tart, just eat it again, and again, and again, and finally you will love the flavor like I do!

blogging food 001

When I work 10-12 hours, I have to think ahead and pack all my food in little zip lock baggies.  This is my meal preparation the night before:

blogging food 003

My afternoon snack was my go to protein shake, cookies n cream flavor just mixed with water and a little bit of ice.  I like my shakes COLD! I also had some baby carrots.

blogging food 004

Fibrous carbohydrates (carrots) not only help suppress appetite, but they help increase the absorption of protein that you ingest!

Here is a vegetable list of other fibrous carbs:

Kale
Broccoli
Lettuce
Squash
Spinach
Peppers

If you aren’t a vegetable fan you can try oats, brown rice, or red potatoes that digest slower also.

Lunch:

For lunch at work I packed leftover Kale, Chickpea, and Sausage soup with a salad which was a mix of romaine lettuce, cucumber, tomato, feta cheese, and sliced almonds.

lunch

salad 2

Afternoon Snack:

2 granola energy balls with blackberries.  I wish I would have packed more berries because they were SO good!

blogging food 005

Enough of all the zip lock bags…

Let’s talk products and more food!  So lately there’s some food I have been wanting to try.  I just need to get out and buy it.

1.   Kefir

My friend Susan at work was telling me about this stuff!  She drinks it in the morning with her overnight oats instead of adding yogurt.  I really want to try it!

2. Simply Protein Chips

3. The Simple Protein Bar

4. Oikos Toasted Coconut Vanilla Greek Yogurt

Source

What are some New or Old Food/Products that you have been wanting to try?

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

What’s your favorite vegetable?

