Happy Monday!

I feel like I am going to be very busy this month with the Pushup ChallengeFoodie Penpals and now this…

I am also going to try to participate in the Healthy sELF Challenge, hosted by Lindsey @ TheLeanGreenBean and Elle From Nutritionella that starts today, Monday Feb. 4th!

logo Healthy sELF Challenge

Source

Weekly challenges will be held on Monday, Thursday, and one day on the weekend!  The challenges encourage people to make healthier choices ALL YEAR ROUND.

There is a weekly challenge calendar so everyone can stay on the same page.  Even if you are not a blogger, please participate if you would like 🙂  The challenge goes until May.

If you cannot do one of the challenges on a certain day you can do it any day that fits your schedule.. For example, one of the challenges is to do 100 burpees throughout the day.  Well If I work 10 or 12 hours there is no way this can be done while I am taking care of patients 😉  I will have to do it a day that I am OFF!

So here goes the start of the first day!  I am going to try my best to follow this.

Monday Feb 4th:  Go Meatless for the day!  (This is going to be a hard one for me…But I can try it!)-  It’s a CHALLENGE right?

Also, Here is another recipe I promised.  I made these yesterday in my meal prepping for the week.

dark choc coconut bites

coconut bites

Ingredients:

national carrot cake day! 011

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1.5 scoops chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 2 tbsp chopped dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (no sugar added)
  • 1 tbsp honey

Put It All Together:

national carrot cake day! 010

Literally, all you do is mix it all together!

national carrot cake day! 012

Form into balls  (My recipe made 16 medium sized balls)

snack

Roll in unsweetened coconut if you would like!  Refrigerate and enjoy!

dark choc ball 1

Nutritional Info (one ball)

dark chocolate protein balls 1

  • 105 calories
  • 6.2 g fat
  • 8.9 g carbs
  • 1.5 g fiber
  • 3.3 g sugar
  • 4.6 g protein

** Pair with a piece of fruit and you are good to go!

Sunday:

I started my morning off with a TABATA workout.  You really don’t need a lot of equipment for this one so it can easily be done at home!

WORKOUT

feb tabata

You can do the bench dips on a chair or even on the floor.

LUNCH

After the gym I had lunch with my sister and mom.  I had a turkey sandwich with a small salad with grilled chicken.  (Now you might see why going meatless is going to be hard for me!)  But it’s only one day so I think I can do it.

national carrot cake day! 005

national carrot cake day! 006

And as you know from my post yesterday, it was National Carrot Cake Day.  So I took advantage of the opportunity to enjoy my favorite dessert.  Not having sweets for the month of January made me really miss this very thing 🙂

carrot cake

me carrot cake

 

DINNER

Dinner was a mix of crumbled sausage (I had to finish it before it went bad in the regrigerator) with sweet potato and mango salsa.  You might think this is a weird combination but lately I have just been throwing stuff together and it tastes awesome!

This was a winner dinner for sure!

dinner and jax 006

 

After dinner snack:

Sunday was definitely a meal prepping day for me because I also made Paleo Sunshine Muffins!  (recipe to come)

 

Did you watch the Superbowl?

Did you eat Carrot Cake yesterday?

