Hello!

Monday was a snowy day again!

super seedz 002

Monday’s Workout

PUSH UP CHALLENGE DAY 4

 I did 13 real push ups and oh my was it hard!

My goal by the end of February is to do 20!

Push-Up Challenge Week 2 Workout 1 - Use

Thank you Becky for hosting once again 🙂

I didn’t do this full workout because I knew I was going to be incorporating push ups into my workout.  But please if you are following along let us know how this workout was!

I also did some Biceps + Back + Cardio

25 minutes of cardio- I split mine between the treadmill and the elliptical

biceps + Back

Here are some more pictures of the exercises:

Seated Rows:

Don’t mind my facial expressions!  It was pretty heavy.

me back

Bench Push Ups:

2013-02-04_11-33-41_547

After the gym I refueled with my Beverly International Protein shake, of course.

Lunch

Some fresh strawberries:

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 017

I could not wait to eat lunch because I knew I wanted to roast some chickpeas and top my salad with them!

I couldn’t have chicken with my salad because It was “Meatless Monday” for the Healthy sELF challenge.  I needed some extra protein so I topped my salad with a fried egg also.

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 026

I made my own dressing too:

A splash of lime juice, lemon grapeseed oil, and lemon rosemary blend seasoning.  Good to go!

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 028

The runny egg made a little bit of its own dressing too.  So good.

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 029

And then a dark chocolate coconut bite.

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 031

And the least favorite part of my day….Finding all the matching socks!

super seedz 003

During the day I also had quite a few snacks:

  • Love grown granola (that I won from a giveaway that Lindsey had!)
  • Another Beverly Shake
  • Blueberries
  • SuperSeedz (I’ll be doing a product review soon)

Now let me tell you how I made those wonderful Roasted Chickpeas that you saw on my salad.

Inspired by this recipe

Roasted Chickpeas

roasted chickpea 1

These are my new favorite snack because they are the bomb!

I made the them with one can of chickpeas because that’s all I had, but feel free to make a larger batch if you want!

You want to start by making your oven super HOT. 425 degrees hot.  I put my non stick baking sheet in the oven so it gets super HOT too!

Next, drain and rinse the chickpeas.  After you rinse them you need to place them on a paper towel in a single layer to dry them off.  I laid another paper towel on top and rolled them around to make sure they were good and dry!

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 014

I put the chickpeas in a bowl to coat them with the seasonings.

Add salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder to the bowl and mix everything together!

Take the HOT baking sheet out of the oven and spray with non stick olive oil.

Place the chickpeas onto the baking sheet in a single layer!

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 015

Put into the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

Roll around with a spatula and bake for an additional 15 minutes.

** Definitely OK to eat alone as a tasty snack, or top your salad with it like I did!

The finished product:

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 020

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 cans chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • Non Stick Spray
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp paprika

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  • Place chickpeas on a paper towel and pay completely dry. Remove any loose skins.
  • Place in a bowl and mist with olive oil or oil of choice. Sprinkle with seasonings of your choice and toss well to coat. Transfer to baking sheet. Make sure chickpeas are in a single layer. Bake for 15 minutes, toss well and flip, then bake for about 15 minute. Let cool and eat!

easy roasted chickpeas

Store them in air tight containers.  I just left them out on the counter and I will probably snack on them tomorrow and have them in another salad.

sunshine muffins;roasted chickpeas 030

Enjoy!

How has your week been going?

Have you ever had roasted chickpeas?

I’m watching the Bachelor as we speak…who else hates Tiara??

