Hello!

Here is this week’s meal and fitness plan. I am trying some new dishes this week 🙂

weekly meal and fitness plan

Meal Plan:

  • Monday: Feta Cheese Spaghetti Squash Bake- Adapted from Eat Move Balance
  • Tuesday: Pasta Fagioli – Skinny Taste
  • Wednesday: Crockpot Rosemary Pork Tenderloin with Sweet Potato
  • Thursday:  Turkey Taco Casserole- Eat Live Run
  • Friday:  TBD – Something quick and easy!
  • Saturday:  Family Girl’s Night
  • Sunday: TBD

Meal Prep:

This week I didn’t do a whole lot of meal prep.  Once again though I did make my Berry Protein Loaf.  Ready for 4 easy breakfasts on the go.  I usually just add some extra blueberries, maybe a dollop of almond butter, microwave for about a minute and hit the road!

food prep 3312 003

You need to make this!

food prep 3312 004

I also made a huge salad that I can easily put into a container and take to work for lunches!

food prep 3312 001

For Lunch I had some of the salad with a spinach and Asiago quiche that I brought home from Bonbonerie.  Eric and I split it.  It was so creamy and amazing and probably the best quiche I’ve ever had! I need to try to replicate it!

food prep 3312 002

Fitness:  Pretty plain and simple for me this week:

  • Monday: Crossfit
  • Tuesday: OFF
  • Wednesday: Crossfit
  • Thursday: Crossfit
  • Friday: OFF
  • Saturday: Crossfit
  • Sunday: Crossfit

On Saturday I also made some cupcakes for my friend Lindsey’s birthday. I finally whipped out my Kitchenaid mixer that I got for Christmas!

BB and TJ's 013

We had dinner with them last night.  We enjoyed a skinny girl margarita with chicken and cheese enchiladas! Yum.

sg marg

And hopefully they had cupcakes for dessert 🙂

I have been trying for a while now to come up with a good Carrot Cake recipe and I have failed multiple times 😦

I finally make a carrot cupcake that I like…and the boys liked it too!

Alec said it was a 9 out of 10!  Woo hoo!

carrotcake 1

They turned out so pretty If I must say so myself!

cupcakes 3

Here is the Recipe:

Carrot Cupcakes with a White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes 12 Cupcakes

Ingredients:

For the Cupcakes

  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • Canola Oil – I’m sure you could use butter instead
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3/4 cup + 1.5 tablespoons whole wheat flour (sifted)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp mixed spice (apple pie spice)
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

For the Frosting: (I didn’t measure everything completely, I am an eye baller!)

  • 1/2 stick butter (room temp)
  • 1/2 cup high reatio shortening (I got this from Cincinnati Cake and Candy Supply)
  • Pinch Sea Salt
  • Melted White Chocolate – Prob 1/3 cup
  • Approx. 2 Cups Confectioner Sugar
  • 1 tsp cream cheese flavoring

cream cheese flavor 001

cupcakes 2

Directions:

For the Cupcakes

  • Preheat Oven to 325 Degrees
  • Line muffin tins with cupcake liners
  • In a large electric mixer, beat together sugar and vegetable oil for about a minute
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition
  • Add the dry ingredients and grated carrots alternatively, mixing briefly before each addition
  • Fold in chopped nuts
  • Bake for about 20 minutes

For the Frosting:

  • Place shortening and butter in a mixing bowl and beat together until smooth.
  • Add white chocolate and salt to mixture and continue to mix until well incorporated
  • Mix in cream cheese flavoring.
  • Add half of the sugar and beat until smooth.
  • Add remaining sugar and beat until creamy
  • Do not overbeat

cupcakes 4

This is what the frosting was supposed to look like, but the tip was acting weird, so it kept coming out in little ribbons, and I actually like the look of it more!  Pretty cute, huh.

cupcakes

Enjoy!

How was your weekend!?  I will be hosting an Albion Fit Giveaway on Tuesday!  Be sure to check back in 🙂

