Good Morning!

It’s time for another WIAW!

Thanks Jenn for hosting once again!

What I Ate Wednesday GOES GREEN

Breakfast

When I woke up yesterday I was really in the mood for my Berry protein Loaf, but I didn’t feel like baking, boo!  So while I decided what I wanted to really eat I munched on 2 of these Belvita biscuits.  The blueberry is my favorite 🙂

belvita take 2

And then I figured I really need some protein in me before I go to Crossfit!  So I whipped up one egg and one egg white real quick.  Then I figured why not throw it onto an English Muffin,  so I made my Paleo English Muffin.  Topped it with some Apricot Jam, and I was good to go!

paleo english muffin 2

The edges got a little crispy in the toaster, but it was still so tasty.  I also needed some fruit so I ate some strawberries that I cut up the night before.  That’s what food prepping is for!

This is also going to be a What I worked out Wednesday just fyi!

Crossfit was BRUTAL yesterday.  I have learned to not underestimate a workout that LOOKS EASY, because most likely it will NOT BE EASY.

I wanted to cry several times during the WOD- I am such a baby.

wod

We worked on Snatch Grip Deadlifts First.

me crossfit snatch DL

snatch DL 2

I always have to take my shoes off because I don’t have crossfit shoes yet.

WOD:

25 Goblet Squats – 35# Kettlebell

20 Walking Kettlebell Swings

12 Abmat Situps

I did it in 12:15.

After that BRUTAL workout, I refueled with my Beverly International Protein Shake- Vanilla

shake

Lunch:

I started with a pear

pear

Then a Tuna Patty.  This time the ingredients were slightly different.

2 Servings

  • 1 Can of Tuna
  • 1 Egg White
  • Wildtree Rancher Steak Rub (this made all the difference in the world) You can use any burger/steak seasoning you like
  • Garlic powder
  • S&P
  • 3 tbsp Oats
  • 2 Tbsp Almond Flour

Mix all ingredients together and form into patties. Cook on stove top for about 3-5 minutes on each side.

saras tuna patty

Also a veggie salad with some cottage cheese.

lunch

Dressing: Balsamic, Wildtree grapeseed oil, Lime juice

lunch 2

While I was out I picked up some almonds that were on sale.  I was so happy!  These things are NEVER on sale.

DSC05416

I snacked on some of these in the afternoon.  They have barely any sugar in them which is awesome.

DSC05431

For some reason I was craving a pop, and I usually don’t drink pop at all so I had a Zevia.  These are sweetened with stevia and only have 5 carbs per can.

zevia

I really need to drink more water so I will be sure to have some with dinner and the rest of the evening!

I also made some of these little muffins for breakfast tommorrow, and I ate one after I made them too, duh.

Paleo Pumpkin Banana Muffins

paleo pumpkin banana muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt (or a good pinch)
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp stevia

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.  Pour into sprayed muffin tins and top with chopped almonds.  I used cinnamon almonds 🙂  You could also use walnuts or pecans.  Bake for 25 minutes.

lily muffin

Feel Free to use more or less honey/stevia.  You can sweeten these however you like.  You could even try it with unsweetened applesauce.

paleo muffins 2

Enjoy!

Dinner:

Sweet Potato Turkey Shepherd’s Pie  (Adapted from Skinny Taste)

shepherds pie

Dessert:

Sara’s Healthy Apple Crisp

Lite Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium/large apple chopped
  • cinnamon
  • apple pie spice
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 packet stevia
  • optional: raisins, nuts
  • 1 tbsp smart balance butter
  • 3 tbsp oats
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees. Spray 3 ramekins with non stick cooking spray.  Mix first 5 ingredients together in a bowl and any optionals.  In a separate bowl mix the last 3 ingredients together.  Combine all ingredients and separate into 3 ramekins.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Towards the end of baking add a pat of butter on top of each dessert.

healthy apple crisp

I didn’t measure the spices but you can Add more cinnamon and/or brown sugar if desired.   

The boys topped theirs with ice cream, and I topped mine with 1 tbsp lite cool whip. 1 tbsp granola, and Protein cookie dough crumble.

Enjoy!

What a day!  I hope yours was as productive as mine. Now I am tired. Good night!

