Good Morning!

On Saturday night we had a great meal inspired by Skinnytaste.  I love her meals!  Here it is:

Crockpot Chicken A La Criolla 

crockpot chicken

“Criolla (literally creole) is a Spanish word widely used to describe Caribbean or Hispanic cuisine. In this simple yet flavorful dish, boneless skinless chicken thighs are stewed in the slow cooker with bell peppers, onions, garlic, tomatoes, olives, cilantro and spices”  Skinnytaste

My version:  I put the rice in the slow cooker with everything- but next time I think I will make it separately.  I also don’t like olives so I left those out and I didn’t have any cilantro which would have made this dish amazing!

Ingredients:

  • 10 (2 lbs) skinless boneless chicken thighs, fat trimmed
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped or sliced
  • 2 plum tomatoes
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 bay leaf
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro (plus 2 tbsp more for serving)- optional
  • My add ins:  One can garbanzo beans, wildtree rancher steak rub seasoning, 1 cup bown rice

DSC05518

Add all ingredients to crockpot and cook on low for 6 hours.  If you cook the rice separately (which I would advise to do) serve your chicken over brown rice.  Sprinkle with cilantro if desired.

chicken crockpot 2

I sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top too! Yum.

Enjoy!

CROSSFIT:

On Sunday I went to Olympic Lifting Practice at the Box!  I need to work on my form on lots of the lifts so I don’t injure myself!  We worked on snatches for about an hour, and my thumbs were about numb towards the end.

“The Snatch is the world’s fastest lift. In addition to moving the weight quickly, the snatch also moves the weight a long distance – from the ground all the way overhead. The snatch not only trains power, but is an excellent developer of balance, flexibility, coordination, speed and strength.”

Source

We did a series of warm ups including working on our grip, and then moving the bar up and down from the floor to our “sweet spot” which is right before we stand all the way up. We also did some goblet squats and squats facing the wall to warm up.

“The snatch also employs the “hook” grip. This grip holds your thumb underneath your fingers instead of on top. It can be a little uncomfortable at first, but is essential for snatching heavy weights.”

Source

Then came the good stuff, the actual snatch lift:

Part 1:

e915c7728f6711e29caa22000a1f96f6_7

Part 2:

0e06f4768f6711e29a8222000a1f8ccf_7

Part 3:

Snatch!

bffe2e4c8f6711e2b9c422000a1f968f_7

I still need to work on it, but Coach SISU said we did 100 times better than when we started, so I was happy with the session!

Check out this article on Fixing the Snatch

What is your favorite/least favorite crossfit lift?

If you don’t do crossfit what is your favorite or least favorite exercise?

