Good Morning!

Last Week I made a Quiche, In hopes that It would taste like the spinach quiche I had at Bonbonerie at the beginning of the month!  I took my mom there for lunch and we both had awesome meals and I have been DREAMING of this quiche ever since!  I tried to get the recipe- but no response back 😦

So I attempted to make my own version!

I usually make CrustLESS quiche, but I thought I could attempt to make my own.  Whole wheat of course.  I pulled out my Bob’s Red Mill Whole Wheat flour and went to town!  So first I will tell you about this crust…

Homemade Whole Wheat Pie Crust  (adapted from HeavenlyHomemakers)  

  • 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 5 Tablespoons cold water

Place flour, salt and shortening in food processor.  Blend until shortening is cut throughout the flour and the mixture resembles crumbs.

Add in the water slowly until a ball starts to form.

DSC05662

doughh ball

Roll the dough out onto a well floured surface.  This is the point in time when I realized I DIDNT have a roller!  HMMM, what should I do? I looked at a few soup cans, and then I spotted a wine bottle, of course that would work!

DSC05664

Perfect!  Sometimes you just have to use what you have!

Roll the dough out and fold it in half two times until it looks like this.

DSC05665

Then place the dough in your pie dish with the folded corner in the center.

This was the only “pie dish” I had.

DSC05666

Unfold the dough and shape it to the dish, and make the edges pretty.

DSC05667

Ok I know this is NOT pretty! But I tried.  This was the first time I have ever made pie crust, give me a break 🙂  Poke the crust with a fork a few times to keep it from poofing up in the oven.  Mine still poofed a little bit.

This is what it should or could look like!

pie_crust_palm_shortening_sm

Hey, it’s the taste that counts right??

Bake at 450° for 10-12 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.

Now for the Quiche- with a crust.

Spinach and Asiago Quiche : By Sara

quiche 1

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs 
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • S&P to taste
  • 1 package spinach
  • Shredded Asiago Cheese

Directions:

  • Start by cooking the spinach on the stove.  Season however you like.  Then DRAIN the spinach.
  • Beat 4 eggs with almond milk, and s&p in a separate bowl.
  • Add cooked spinach to egg mixture.
  • Place 1/3 cup Asiago cheese into egg and spinach mixture and blend well.
  • Pour batter into the whole wheat pie crust
  • Top with more Asiago cheese

quiche 3

Bake at 400 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until eggs are set.

quiche 2

I used a lot of cheese in this dish 🙂  Next time I think I might add some Parmesan too!

So, it didn’t QUITE taste like Bonbonerie’s quiche but it was still good!

This was my first time using Asiago cheese in a dish too, and I loved the flavor! Give it a whirl yourself and let me know how yours turns out!

What is your favorite kind of cheese?

