Good Morning!

Yesterday I slept in a bit- until 8:30 am!  Woo hoo.  That’s way better than 5:15 I would have to say!

I got up and blogged a little while I let the dogs run around and eat etc.  Then I made myself breakfast.  I printed out a 2 week paleo sample diet plan that I have been using as a GUIDE to make my meals.  Like I have said 10,000 times I do not follow Paleo 100% but I think it is a good guide to eat healthy, and to get lots of protein and nutrients into my diet!

DSC05892

It gives me meal ideas so I don’t have to think on my own!  For example one day looks like this:

Breakfast: 2 hard boiled eggs, 2 pieces of bacon, and cantaloupe

Snack: Celery Sticks with Almond Butter

Lunch: Salmon and Spinach Salad

Snack: Beef Jerky (which I don’t like and will never eat), or hard boiled egg, or mixed berries with walnuts

Dinner: Grilled Flank Steak with onion and mushroom; Broccoli

So for breakfast yesterday I had 2 eggs with a laughing cow garlic and herb cheese wedge mixed in, 2 turkey sausage links and  a side of apple slices.  Turkey sausage demolished before picture 🙂

DSC05874

The eggs were delicious!

I gave some of the apple to Lily.  Dogs can have apples right?  Well I don’t know but she liked it and she seems fine 🙂

TWINS

After breakfast I headed to Crossfit where my sister showed up basically wearing the same thing as me.  Let me give you a little background.  My sister and I are 15 months apart and when we were little my mom dressed us like twins!  Same exact easter dresses, summer outfits etc!

Maybe now it is just in our blood?  I mean we do shop together a lot.

We had on the same tank top and shoes!  This isn’t the first time this has happened either.

twins

Our workout was a good one:

crossfit front squat

We loaded our bar with 55 lbs then added chains to both sides.  Something new to me!  We did 3 sets of 7 reps.

In the WOD I used 110# for the Deadlift, and a 25 lb kettlebell for the half moons.

Half Moons work the whole core, and we could use a sandbag, kettlebell, dumbbell, or medicine ball.

I finished in 7:47.

Image Source

Deadlifts are a great because they work your lower back and all the surrounding muscles including the glutes, hips, and waist.  They builds core stability which also helps maintain balance.  Having a strong core helps in maintaining healthy posture, and preventing back problems too!

me crossfit snatch DL

“So doing a deadlift is almost like doing  a leg press, a back extension, a lying leg curl, an abdominal crunch, a gripping exercise, a straight-arm pull down and a shrug all at the same time. Yep, its one hell of a compound lift.”  The Deadlift

If you need an exercise to incorporate into your weekly fitness routine, deadlifts may just be the thing for you!  Always make sure you get proper instruction so you don’t hurt yourself 🙂

It was nice out so after crossfit I put on my Sandals and headed out to run some errands.  I love sandal season.

2013-04-08_11-29-01_423

When I got home I snacked on 2 peanut butter protein balls while I made lunch.  I promise I will be posting the recipe 🙂

DSC05885

Lunch:  Spinach salad with chicken, hard boiled egg, avocado, tomatoes, cucumber, and pecans.

DSC05886

My had my friends baby shower at work so I made rice krispy treats (her favorite).  I forgot how easy and tasty rice krispy treats were.  It’s been SO long since I have made some.   Totally ok to Sample (scrape the bowl) when your done 🙂

DSC05887

Some added sprinkles for baby shower flare 🙂

DSC05888

I was pretty hungry a little while later after working in the yard so I had some cocoa almonds and strawberries. By the way, I hate yard work, but I am NOT complaining about this awesome weather that are having.

DSC05889

Fresh strawberries are the best!

DSC05891

Dinner was so great that I think it deserves its own post 🙂  Grilled Cod with Skinny Broccoli and Cheese Casserole with Summer Salad.  I can’t wait to tell you guys about it!

Do you Love or hate yard-work?

What is your favorite spring time fruit?

