Inspiring fitness lovers to have their cupcake and eat it too!

Daily Archives: April 10, 2013

Good Morning!

What I Ate Wednesday

It’s another WIAW (Monday) and I am going to feature what my husband and I had for dinner on Monday night because it was amazing.  My husband ranked it one of my top meals ever made!  You know it has to be good then!

First I will start with the:

Skinny Broccoli and Cheese Casserole- By Sara

broc cass

Ingredients:

  • 3 small heads of broccoli- fresh 
  • 3 wedges laughing cow garlic and herb cheese
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Topping:

  • 2 tbsp almond flour
  • 1 tbsp Italian breadcrumbs
  • Slivered almonds
  • 1 tbsp smart balance butter- melted

broc cass 2

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. 
  • Fill a pan with water and bring to a boil.  Add broccoli, cover and cook for about 5 minutes. 
  • Drain water and mix in laughing cow cheese wedges until broccoli is completely coated. 
  • Divide broccoli evenly into 2 mini ramekins.

For the Topping:

  • Mix breadcrumbs, almond flour, and melted butter together  in a bowl and sprinkle over each broccoli mixture.
  • Garnish with almonds
  • Bake in preheated oven for about 30 minutes, or until top is browned.  Enjoy!
  • Makes 2 servings

cass 2

It’s Grillin’ Time!

We broke out our grill for the first time this summer, yay.  I love grilling.  It leaves my kitchen so much more clean!  I am usually a talapia girl but the other day we bought some fresh Cod so we decided to grill it, which I have never done before.  Well it turned out great and I will probably be making this again next week!

Lemon Grilled Cod

grill

Lemon Butter Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp smart balance butter- melted
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp parsley
  • 1 tbsp paprika

Directions:

  • Cut one large piece of Cod into chunks.
  • Place in foil “tent”
  • Pour the Lemon Butter Sauce over fish.
  • Grill on high heat for about 5 minute on each side until tender and flaky

cod

We also had a side: Summer Salad

DSC05895

spinach – grape tomatoes – blueberries – zucchini – pecans

I especially love fresh fruit and veggies on salads in the summer time.  It is a quick, easy, and healthy side for any meal.  We enjoyed ours with a Cherry Balsamic Vinaigrette

A great Meal overall!

cod meal

What is your favorite kind of fish?

Do you like fruit on your salads?

