Inspiring fitness lovers to have their cupcake and eat it too!

Daily Archives: April 12, 2013

Good Morning!

I love adding protein into my meals and snacks.  As much as I work out at crossfit, I need to replenish my muscles.  I try to get 120-130 grams of protein per day.

That may sound like a lot but it is very easy to accomplish.  Why spend all the time in the gym if you are not going to eat the right foods to support the changes you are trying to make!  Protein can actually help control your appetite, maintain lean muscle mass, and burn body fat!

Don’t forget:

Source

Other sources of protein (that I like) are:

  • Eggs
  • Lean Meat- Chicken, Laura’s Lean ground beef, turkey
  • Low fat cottage cheese
  • Almonds
  • Mini Babybell Cheese
  • String Cheese
  • Nut Butters
  • Greek Yogurt

I like the way Annette talks about body fat and dietary protein.  She puts it plain and simple: “You see, protein is a macro nutrient that is vital not only for those of us wanting to shed body fat, but also for any muscle we do gain (you want this if you want to look fit and strong), so we can maintain that in the long term!”

GOT IT!?!?  Good!

So with that in mind, Here is another protein ball recipe that can be eaten as a pre or post workout.  I like to take them to the gym with me along with my protein shake if I won’t be eating for a while.  They hold me over quite nicely.

Peanut Butter Protein Balls

These are adapted from my Power Ball Recipe

protein balls

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter (or almond butter)
  • 1/4 cup chopped cocoa almonds
  • 2 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 drops liquid stevia

PB protein balls

Mix All ingredients together in a bowl.  Roll into balls and refrigerate!

Makes 14 balls.  Each one has 6 grams of protein!  If you eat two after your workout you just got 12 grams of protein in to refuel those muscles!

protein balls 3

Enjoy! They won’t last long 🙂

Where do you get most of your protein?

