Good Morning!

I’ve been slacking a little bit in telling you guys about my workouts.  Don’t fret, I have plenty to share with you today!  First I want to tell you about an awesome snack that I had today at work.  I wanted some fruit but also some protein to hold me over until lunch.

Snack:

Low Fat Cottage Cheese with blackberries and the last of my strawberry mango salsa!  It was delicious and just perfect to hold me over for a couple of hours.

cottage cheese

Well I guess it doesn’t look as great as it tasted, but you just have to trust me on this one.

Crossfit:

I forgot to mention a very important workout that we did last Saturday.  There is a reason I want to tell you guys about it.  My abs have never been so sore in my life.  It is Thursday and they are STILL sore!!  Her name was ANNIE, and she was a major biotch if you know what I mean 🙂

I’m pinning this one as an Ab Killer.

annie-crossfit

 

I am referring to Jump Rope when I say Double and Single Unders.  A single under is a normal jump rope exercise.  A double under is where the jump rope goes under your feet twice, so it’s a lot faster than a single under.

If we couldn’t successfully do 150 Double Unders, then we could do single unders but add 5, 4, 3, 2, and then 1 tuck jumps in between the jump rope and sit ups.  I chose this option.  If I did double unders if probably would have taken me 20 minutes.  I chose the lesser, and did single unders 🙂  It was still a great workout, and like I said my abs are STILL SORE!

I finished in 6:59

So last night we did another FANTASTIC workout called the Kettlebell 300 in honor of the Facebook Page receiving 300 likes!  Go Crossfit Y’all!  You can also follow them on Twitter!

Russian Kettlebell situps were involved in this one and I knew since my abs were still sore from Saturday, that this would be a killer!  We used 2 hands for these, thank God or I might have not made it off the ground!

KB 300

At crossfit on Tuesday night we practiced gymnastics- such as handstands, muscles ups, L Sits, and Pistol Squats.  Sadly enough I think I pulled my groin doing handstands!  How does that happen???  So I used a 25 lb Kettlebell for the Kettlebell 300 hoping I wouldn’t make my situation worse.

I finished this workout in 32:33.  What a long WOD!!

Here is some more information on the following workouts:

Turkish GetUps

Goblet Squat

Windmills

Half Moons

Sumo Deadlift High Pulls

I mentioned before that we worked on gymnastics on Tuesday night.  You may wonder what gymnastics has to do with crossfit right?  Well it actually has a lot to do with it!  Gymnastic skills such as handstand, help us develop not only our balance and core strength that in the long run will help us with MANY crossfit lifts and exercises, but also strength and flexibility!

Source

Dinner:

After crossfit I headed home and made a huge salad topped with chicken and homemade dressing.  Did I mention that homemade dressing is so much better tasting and healthier than store-bought.  Get in your pantry and start experimenting!!

salad

Grape Tomatoes, Cucumber, Zucchini, Clementine, Goat Cheese, Red Pepper, Avocado, Chicken

Homemade Dressing: Balsamic Vinegar, Grapeseed Oil, Lemon Pepper Seasoning, Lemon Juice

Dessert:

Vanilla Protein Mug Muffin

mug muffin 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 egg whites
  • Pinch salt
  • 2 drops liquid stevia
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • Splash of almond milk

Mix all ingredients together and microwave for 90 seconds.  You don’t want to microwave too long or the muffin will turn into a rubbery dry mess.  It tastes better when the center is a little gooey 🙂

  • 159 Calories
  • 5g  Carbs
  • 1g  Sugar
  • 27g Protein

Enjoy!

Do you ever make your own salad dressing?

