Good Morning! Happy Friday!

It was such a nice day yesterday! My dogs LOVED it, and I loved it because they played outside all day!

pups

Jax was tired after their play date! He’s laying on my sandals.

DSC06043

I think I have told you guys before that Thursdays at our BOX are designated rest days!  We all know that rest days are essential right!?  Well if you don’t know this, I am telling you they are 🙂  It gives our muscles time to heel, and rebuild for that next workout that we plan to do.  They actually make us STRONGER believe it or not!  Anyhoo, I took Monday off and I am taking Sunday off so I chose to go to the box yesterday and work on something that I struggle with.

Source

The area that I struggle with most is my shoulders. For ME these take the most time to build up in strength!  I feel like this is the case for a lot of women.

I decided I would go in and work on my 3 Rep Max Push Press.  I worked my way up to 95 lbs, which was my last 3 rep max about a month ago.  Well today, I could barely do 90!  I felt discouraged at first, but then the trainer talked me through it and explained how some days we get to our max and other days we have to work back up to it.  Even though I did 95 lbs a month ago I may not be able to do it today or tomorrow.

The trainer worked with me for a while and gave me some tips for better positioning and how to get more work done in less time. The workout he made for me was to do a 65 lb push press EMOM (Every Minute On the Minute). I started at 1 and worked my way up to 8.  I became quicker with each set!   I felt less discouraged and I learned ALOT in that short amount of time.

push press

Do you ever feel discouraged, but then you push through it and find a better outcome??   This is what happened today:  And The reason I love crossfit!!  The only way I will get stronger shoulders is if I work on it!

And then I did the WOD: “Megan”

Megan tricked me!  I tried to pick a WOD that would be a good workout but not too tough after my push press.  Megan was pretty tough, but I was glad I did it.

megan

You would think that I had enough use of the Kettlebell after the Kettlebell 300, but I just kept on going with it!  Check out my previous post if you are wondering what Double Unders are!

After crossfit I took my husband lunch at work and ran a few errands including a stop at Meijer to pick up some oats and peanut butter to make my PB Protein Balls.  My sister is going to the police academy on Sunday and I promised I would make her a big batch to take with her!

I made a batch for me and a double batch for her:)

DSC06040

Lunch:  Another Huge Salad

salad

Grape Tomoatos, Zucchini Ribbons, Blueberries, Clementine, Goat Cheese, Tuna

Dressing: Lemon Juice, Lemon Pepper Seasoning, Grapeseed Oil, Balsamic

I Also had some Ezekial Toast with Chunky Peanut Butter.

DSC06039

Speaking of Ezekial toast, I got an awesome package in the mail today!  Be looking for a review on this bread and lock laces soon.

DSC06042

I also made another batch of my Strawberry Mango Salsa– with added Kiwi for the girls WOD-N-WINE night tonight at the box!  More details on this later 🙂

And for dinner I tried something new.  I found these gluten free chicken sausages at Meijer. I threw one on the grill (the boys had hot dogs) with some zucchini and made a meal out of it.

chicken sausage

I dropped one piece of zucchini on the ground and two fell into the grill, talk about butter fingers!  They were pretty tasty though. I brushed them with grapeseed oil and a mixture of sea salt and garlic.

zucchini

How was your day?

Have you been grilling this season yet??

