Good Morning!

The winner of the Artisana Prize Pack Giveaway is:

Wendy M

Submitted on 2013/04/30 at 7:00 am

The possibilities are endless! On rice cakes, apples, in shakes..

Wendy,  Please email me at  fitcupcaker at gmail dot com to claim your prize!  Thanks everyone who entered!

Blogging has really opened up my mind to new foods, tastes, flavors, and baking experiments!  I’ve always loved baking but ever since I started my blog back in November I feel like my creativity has sky rocketed!

collage

Sometimes I fail miserably and sometimes I come up with  food creations that are so addicting and it makes me want to bake more and more!

Today I am going to share a muffin recipe with you sweetened with Xyla.

Xyla, a manufacturer of Xylitol, recently sent me a sample pack with some of their products to try!

  • Xyla Sweetener
  • Candies
  • Mints
  • Gum

xyla 3

What is Xylitol?

“Xylitol is an all natural sweetener that looks and tastes like sugar. Xylitol is naturally occurring in many of the fruits and vegetables we eat on a daily basis. Once extracted and processed it yields a white, crystalline granule that can be used in any recipe that calls for sugar. It’s good for your teeth, stabilizes insulin and hormone levels, promotes good health and has none of the negative side effects of white sugar or artificial sweeteners.”

Source

I did some more research on this product and found the following:

  • Xyla Brand Xylitol is a sugar alcohol that has fewer calories and carbs than regular granulated sugar
  • Xylitol does not caramelize when baking so finished baked goods may seem dryer. An easy solution is to add more liquid, lecithin, butter, or even xanthan gum to the recipe to retain moisture. (Source)

The candies and mints are good, except for the fact that they melt in your mouth in like ten seconds so it makes me want to eat a full handful every time I reach in the tin.  I am not a fan of really minty gum and this definitely falls into that category, so I probably would not chew it on a daily basis.

xyla candies

So is xyla really natural?  I think this might take a lot of time and research, but I did find some information on it and here it is:

According to Shane Ellison, The People’s Chemist  “Xylitol is a molecular cousin to sugar and is derived from the crushed fibers of sugar cane […birch wood or corn…] using a multi-step chemical reaction that involves the use of sulfuric acid, calcium oxide, phosphoric acid and active charcoal. The end product is a a bleached, powdery blend of sugar alcohols that taste sweet on the tongue but are not absorbed by the body.”

There are a bunch of big words in there and I’m not sure what all of them mean myself!   He also said:

“Xylitol will rip up your insides, namely the digestive tract.  It’s being touted as a natural product, most likely so that it can bypass regulation.  Thus, very little studies exist on its side effects.”

Source

xyla sugar

So, Xyla is a sugar alcohol and I know that consuming too much of this can cause some laxative effects if you know what I mean!  Also cramping, bloating etc.  None of this sounds good to me, so I say if you do eat sugar alcohol,  consume in small amounts.

I did use a small amount in my muffin experiment and they did turn out pretty good!  I used banana in the recipe and I think that initially adds sweetness, but feel free to use more sweetener if desired.

Will I use Xyla all the time?  Probably not.  This product seems safe but I really try to avoid sugars and if I do bake I like to use all natural honey, and sometimes stevia.  So I’ll leave the choice to you, but for those of you wondering,  xyla did bake well 🙂

Here is the recipe I promised!

Oatmeal Blueberry Banana Muffins (+Protein)

bb muffins

Ingredients:

Dry

  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • 1 tbsp XYLA (or other sugar)
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch Salt
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Wet

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (regular or sugar free would work)
  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • 1 banana- mashed

polaroid

Directions:

  • Preheat Oven to 350 Degrees F
  • Spray Muffin tin with non stick cooking spray (or use muffin liners)
  • Mix dry ingredients together in one bowl.
  • Mix wet ingredients together in a separate bowl.
  • Slowly add dry ingredients to wet and mix until well incorporated.
  • Fill each muffin cup 3/4 way full. (I used an ice cream scoop to measure batter)
  • Bake for 25 minutes.
  • Let cool and Enjoy!

** Makes 9 Muffins

muffins 3

Delicious!

Store in refrigerator and reheat as necessary. Believe me they are best Warm and gooey!

muffin 2

Approximately 138 calories in one muffin.

muffins

Have you ever tried Xyla? 

What are your thoughts on sweeteners?  I say try to avoid artificial ones if possible.

