Good Morning and Happy Mother’s Day!

So, I am a step mom if you guys didn’t already know…so that still counts!!

gatlinburg me and alec

Me and Alec in Gatlinburg last year

I saw this on Giselle’s blog and loved it so I knew I needed to share it!

So what did I get on Mother’s Day??  A sweet beach bag for my upcoming Florida trip!

DSC06252

And an awesome card!

DSC06251

card

This card made me laugh out loud, so true 🙂

Friday:

So this weekend was a busy one for me and Friday I didn’t get a workout in.  I worked ten hours, and then went straight to dinner to celebrate the existence of my AWESOME, AMAZING, CARING, GIVING mother!!   I know we all say “my mother is the best”, but seriously “MY mother is the best!”

me and mom

My wedding Day- Mom and Me

After dinner I went to my friend Jamie’s going away party 😦  She got a job in Arizona   Holy far away!!  I’ll miss our summer pool times together!

Saturday:

Yesterday I had to go back to work to teach education stuff so we can all keep our nursing jobs 🙂  I had plenty of errands to run after work including grocery shopping to pick up mother’s day dinner necessities, and a home depot stop!  Saturday was weird meal-wise.  I didn’t have any real meals except for breakfast: which was an egg white delight from McDonalds.  I waited for 10 minutes for this too (a reminder why I usually cook my own meals- and they usually taste better!)

Egg White Delight McMuffin

During our educational session I also had an apple and snacked on bits and pieces of some Panera bagels that were brought in.  It was about 2 o’clock when I was at the grocery store, hungry by now for lunch (reminder, never go grocery shopping on an empty stomach) so while shopping I ate a Think Thin Chunky Peanut Butter protein bar!  Don’t worry I showed the cashier the wrapper and said I ate it while shopping 🙂  Nobody ever said this was illegal!

Source

Sorry I was a bad blogger and I forgot to take pictures of almost everything I ate during the day . When I got home I broke out the running shoes and went for a little run.  And yes, it was short.

run shoes

Running:

I mentioned previously that I haven’t run in a LONG time!  Last year I trained for the 1/2 marathon in Columbus and got up to 11.7 miles (I will never forget this random number!) but I never actually ran the half.  I am not heart-broken by this in any way.  I was NEVER a runner EVER, and I ran 11.7 miles so that was a HUGE accomplishment for me and I was happy about that.

I was injured a lot and running took a toll on my body.  The pain in my foot/ankle, knees, and lower back was enough for me take a rest. I went from zero running, to running twice a week and long distances.  I got burnt out on running very quickly and towards the end I didn’t even enjoy it.  That’s when I knew I needed a break.

Now I am trying to get back into it slowly and I think Crossfit has had a big influence on this decision.  Crossfit has increased my endurance and my ability to actually breathe while running!  If I don’t focus on the pain in my legs I am good 🙂  So yesterday I ran 2.5 miles with a couple short walking breaks.  I felt pretty good about it.

After my run I really wanted a Power Ice  but they weren’t frozen yet 😦  I got these frozen ice bars in the mail to review and I can’t wait to try them!

power ice

They are supposed to cool your body temperature before or after exercise to enhance performance.  I’ll let you guys know how I like them!

Dinner:

I found a spinach and cheese pizza chillin in the freezer and decided to go for it!  It was pretty awesome!

pizza

Then I did some baking and made these  Almond Power Cookies from Megan Telpner for dessert tonight.

collage

Alec was my taste tester and he approved.  He said “I’m starting to get used to your healthy cooking.”  He likes coconut, dark chocolate, and even ate some of my pizza that had spinach on it!  Who knew!?

cookie collage

More on the amazing Mother’s Day Dinner to come!

Do you enjoy running?

Any fun plans for Mothers Day?

