Good Morning!

Every morning I wake up and I have so many options for breakfast and it is so hard to choose just one thing to eat.  Well I can’t eat everything in my house, but lately I’ve really been diggin’ my Muesli Fusion cereal. 

IMG_20130607_200543

I got a little creative in the kitchen and made this cake.  I’ll tell you why in a minute.

cinn bun

First I’ll tell you a little bit about the main ingredient in this cake:

Muesli Fusion was one of our sponsor’s at Blend Retreat 2013 and this is where I instantly became hooked on their products!

IMG_20130518_090901

Muesli is a healthy cereal that can be enjoyed hot or cold and  is only made with good-for-you ingredients like whole grains, nuts, seeds and dried fruit.  The great thing is, they do all this without added sugar, bonus!  The nuts and seeds in Muesli provide protein, fiber, and omega-3’s, along with other vitamins that our bodies need!

muesli granola

Today I want to share a recipe with you guys that is inspired by my very own bag of Muesli Cereal!  Muesli is having a recipe contest where I could win a gift card to Lululemon or Whole Foods for posting this awesome healthy cake recipe!

cinn bun 2

So check out this recipe I came up with:  Your mouth will be watering before you even take it out of the oven!

Muesli Cinnamon Bun Cake with Coconut Butter Drizzle

IMG_20130607_205621

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Morning Zen Gluten Free Muesli
  • 1 tbsp Almond Flour
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp Maple Syrup (sugar free or regular)
  • 1/4 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/4 cup Applesauce- no nadded sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • Pinch Salt

Directions:

  • Spray an individual ramekin with cooking spray (smart balance)
  • Preheat Oven to 350 Degrees
  • Mix all ingredients together in a bowl
  • Pour batter into ramekin
  • Bake for 25 minutes
  • Drizzle with Coconut Butter
  • Eat the Entire thing!!

For Coconut Butter Drizzle:

Simply Microwave 1 tbsp coconut butter for 30 seconds.   Be careful not to burn.   I used Nikki’s Coconut ButterMacadamia Nut Cookie Flavor

Pour Over Muesli Cinnamon Cake and Enjoy!  

cin bun cake

This single serving cake is so moist and delicious.  The cinnamon aroma reminded me of a cinnamon bun coming straight out of the oven!  Anyway, Who says you can’t have cake for breakfast, or a snack, or dessert?!  I say eat it whenever you want because it is healthy!   You can even split the recipe in half and make 2 muffin size portions out of it!  If I were you I would eat the whole thing though  🙂

With about 10 grams of protein and little sugar you cannot go wrong with this cake!

As I told you before, this is a recipe for a contest and one winner is selected (hopefully me) by the number of Pinterest pins that they receive so I would love it if you would click over to my  Pinterest page and repin this recipe!   Thank you, Thank you 🙂

