Good Morning

I was busy,  but not busy in the kitchen this weekend. Does that make sense?   I made lots of good eats but in a short amount of time!  How is this even possible?  Well, the recipes were SO SIMPLE so I have to share them.  Here they are:

protein pudding

Protein Pudding:

1 packet chocolate sugar free/fat free pudding

2 scoops vanilla (or chocolate) protein powder

2 cups almond milk

Mix all ingredients together well.  I used a blender for a minute or two to remove the clumps.  Refrigerate for at least 20 minutes and enoy!

protein pudding 2

Baked Acorn Squash

-Cut squash in half  (through the stem)  I microwaved it for about 4-5 minutes before cutting it open!

I sprinkled mine with cinnamon and stevia before and after baking 🙂

Bake at 400 degrees for 30-45 minutes (rind up).  The caramelization on the ends tells you it is good to go!

acorn

Breakfast:  add 2 tbsp Peanut butter and you are good to go!

I also got this recipe from my crossfit bud, Tessa.  She has some of the greatest ideas (such as the paleo yogurt crunch) that I had last week.

br

Friday Night : Salmon with mixed pepper salsa

IMG_20130628_210435

Salmon Rub: (for 3 large pieces of salmon)

  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt

Red Pepper Salsa: (makes 2 servings)

  • 3 chopped mini peppers -any color
  • 1 tbsp chopped red onion
  • chopped basil (or cilantro)
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 chopped tomato

On Saturday night I had a major sweet tooth and almost stopped at every ice cream shop imaginable, but I held off the urge and I made this awesome mug brownie for dessert when I got home.  I have a sweet tooth urge like every day of my life.

Chocolate Hazelnut Protein Brownie

nikkis protien brownie

  • 1 tbsp Nikki’s Coconut Butter (chocolate hazelnut brownie flavor)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 egg white
  • water
  • 3 drops liquid stevia
  • 1 tbsp Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips

brownie

Mix all ingredients together well.  Slowly add water at the end to make the batter into a smooth consistency.  Microwave for 60 seconds and enjoy!

Leftover Salmon for my Salmon and Shrimp Salad for lunch Saturday

salad

I used the some of the same seasoning for the shrimp (chili powder, paprika. salt)

Dressing:  Lemon Juice and balsamic vinegar

On Saturday we had a family part at my aunt’s house and I was in charge of bringing dessert (heck yes!) so I made this awesome banana bread, and some healthified truffles that I will share with you later 🙂

Wildtree Banana, Banana Bread

IMG_20130628_230847

Also On Saturday I saw the prettiest rainbow ever!

Double Rainbow!

IMG_20130628_195439

double rainbow

Oh and last but not least, Sir Jackson turned one!!

i'm one

How was your weekend?

