Good Morning!

I thought I would come at you on a Monday with an amazing recipe!  Who doesn’t love chocolate, please tell me!!   Even my husband doesn’t have a huge sweet tooth ( I wish I was like that!) but he will still eat the sweets if I make them.  Yesterday I thought I would experiment in the kitchen, which I do a lot.   I have tons of coconut oil and coconut cream concentrate so I thought I would make peanut butter cups.

sea salt.jpg2

I’ve been trying to watch the sweets and only eat them every once in a while but I like to have healthy options on hand, so today I bring you Dark Chocolate Almond Butter Cups with Sea Salt.  You could easily use peanut butter in place of almond butter in this recipe. but I love almond butter 🙂

Dark Chocolate Almond Butter Cups with Seal Salt

almond butter cups.jpg 2

For the Shells:

  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil- melted
  • 2 tablespoons coconut cream concentrate (or coconut butter)- softened
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of sea salt

Filling:

  • 2-3 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil- melted
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • pinch of sea salt

yummy.jpg2

These obviously weren’t going to be that sweet since they don’t have much sweetener in them at all but after trying the dark chocolate shells I realized they were slightly more bitter than I wanted, so I added a few drops of liquid stevia.  I don’t mind real dark chocolate that has the bitter after taste, but I didn’t want these to be too far off the charts.

I said my husband will still eat my sweets when I make them, but these were not sweet enough for him.  Oh well, more for me 🙂

Instructions:

  • In a medium bowl, mix together all of the ingredients for the dark chocolate shells. (mine was thicker than I wanted it to be- so I need to experiment with this more!)
  • Place paper liners in 6 muffin tins and spoon about 1 tsp of the mixture into the bottom of the cups.
  • Place trays in freezer while you make the filling.
  • Mix all the filling ingredients together.  Take trays out of the freezer and spoon/or pipe the filling into the center of each cup.

choc mold.jpg 2

Once all the shells have been filled add remaining dark chocolate until the filling is covered.  This is where I failed folks 😦   Since the chocolate was too thick it didn’t cover the filling like I would have hoped.  So Instead I swirled it together as much as I could and hoped for the best!  I have to post my failures too, even though I wouldn’t say this was a complete failure, just needs a little up do if you ask me.

Place trays back into freezer to set.  Serve cold!

dark choc cups.jpg2

These still turned out pretty well, even though they didn’t look the prettiest.  Taste overcomes looks right?  For these, I say yes.  Don’t worry, I will perfect this recipe!

Look at this filling- I couldn’t stop licking the bowl.

yum.jpg2

Add a little bit more of sea salt on top- yum!

healthy dessert.jpg2

Enjoy!

Do you ever make your own homemade versions of candies?

Love Sea Salt like I do?

