Good Morning!  Happy Tuesday!

First of all I want to tell you that I was so excited to find some Wild Friends Peanut butter at Jungle Jim’s a while back.  It is pretty darn tasty!!

IMG_20130810_214458

I had a long relaxing weekend, how about you guys!?   I’m going to do a little weekend recap since it was a pretty good weekend.  Saturday I headed to crossfit bright and early before grabbing lunch with a few girlfriends.

Crossfit:

saturday crossfit run wall climbs

Wall climbs are brutal!  My shoulders were on fire.  I finished in 32:01.

After my workout I ran home and showered, then headed to Baba India for a lunch buffet.  Indian food is so divine if you ask me!  I usually get chicken tiki masala but it wasn’t on the buffet so I tried tons of other new flavors.

I made a quick stop at Lululemon afterwards to get some new headbands and a new great (lunch) bag.

lulu

Afterwards I met up with my friend Miranda and her newly announced fiance Garey who promotes for the Bengals.  We went to the Bengals practice where he proposed on the news!  It was pretty exciting!

Source

Photo: She finally got it

Source

Photo: I got engaged today, she said yes!!!!

Source

Congratulations you two!!

Sunday I woke up to a fantastic breakfast before heading out for my day!

Protein Pancakes

IMG_20130811_093814

I posted the recipe on Instagram if you missed it, just wait until these bad boys start to bubble and flip away, so good!

On Sunday after my workout I went to the flee market/farmer’s market and got tons of great deals.  My mom and I each spent 6 dollars and we brought home tons of goodies!

Blackberries…a whole flat was only 3 dollars.  That was a major steal 🙂

collage

I also got some local blueberries, cucumbers, tomatoes, bananas (which I’m planning on making a protein bread with!), red peppers, and lemons!

I figured I couldn’t eat that many blackberries in a week, so I decided I would make a healthy cobbler.  I guess you could call it a Paleo Blackberry Cobbler to be exact, although I used stevia instead of honey, so those strict paleo folks would probably pull my arm off for that one, sorry! Ok, so let’s just call it a HEALTHY cobbler.  I’m glad we got that straight 🙂

Berries are one the best fruits because they have the lowest carb count and they are pretty low in sugar.  Besides, I love them and they are my favorite!

So here is the recipe.  I eye balled a lot of the ingredients, but I will try my best to give you the measurements.

Healthy Blackberry Cobbler

cobbler

  • 2-3 cups blackberries
  • 1-2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 stevia packet — If you don’t like stevia you could use honey, or even regular sugar if you want.

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup almond meal or flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour — I love the smell!
  • 1 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • Pinch (yes just a pinch) of salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
  2. Place blackberries in a round pan (pie pan) or square, or whatever you have!
  3. Squirt lemon juice over berries and then add stevia.
  4. In a small bowl combine the topping ingredients and mix well.  By hand, crumble the topping mixture over berries.  Add walnuts on top.
  5. Bake for 35 minutes until berries are bubbly and topping is golden brown.

Enjoy!  Life is too short to NOT eat dessert  🙂

This should serve around 4 people.

Do you love farmer’s markets like I do?  Whats your favorite NFL team?

