Good Morning!

Dessert, Let’s talk about it shall we?  I love dessert!  Almost after every meal I want something sweet.  I try to go for the healthier options since I have such a sweet tooth, but that doesn’t always happen.

Well anyway, so far I have gone the whole month of August without sweets- by sweets I mean cookies, cupcakes, ice cream, candy, even dark chocolate etc.  I still use stevia in recipes though.  It has been 15 days and I am still going strong!

This week I made a protein bread that I thought maybe I could make french toast with (which sadly, was a fail-  I’ll keep working on it!), and have on hand when I have a sweet tooth.

I adapted this recipe from Sara over at nourish and flourish.  I love her recipes- and her name 🙂  No H please!  I added blueberries into this recipe but feel free to add whatever fruit you like, or leave out completely.  You wont hurt my feelings.

So here is the recipe:

Blueberry Banana Protein Bread

bread

Dry:

  • 1  1/3 Cup Oat Flour-  I just used my food processor to turn oats into flour-  You could probably use whole oats too though!
  • 3 scoops vanilla protein powder ( you will want one that cooks/bakes well)
  • 2 tbsp stevia
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Wet

  • 1/2 cup applesauce (no sugar added)
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Mix Dry ingredients together in one bowl and wet ingredients together in a separate bowl.  Mix wet and dry together, folding in blueberries last.  Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until center is done and top is golden brown!

bread yum

Enjoy!

** Makes 7 thick slices or 14 thin slices

Nutritional Info:

bread

1 thick slice

  • 138 calories
  • 2.5 g fat
  • 19 g carbs
  • 11 g protein (depending on your protein powder of course)
  • 4.7 g sugar (from fruit)

Have a good Day!

