Good Morning and Happy Friday!

I don’t know about you guys, but with my sweet tooth and all, I usually like a “dessert” or some sort of “midnight snack” after dinner.  I try to get some protein in my belly before I go to bed so I don’t wake up at 3 am eating my arm!  Plus I don’t want to wake up starving and end up eating in the car on the way to work (which usually happens 50% of the time anyway).

So what is the best thing to eat before bed?

Answer:  Protein!

“It is crucial to eat a protein meal immediately before going to bed in order to feed your muscles the nutrients they need to recover and grow while you sleep.  Go with 20-40 grams of slow-digesting protein, such as a casein shake or cottage cheese.  If you’re trying to pack on mass and don’t store fat easily, take your protein with about 20-40 g of slow-digesting carbs, such as oatmeal, sweet potatoes or whole-wheat bread.”

Source

Usually I’ll make a protein mug muffin and top it with 1 tbsp of peanut or almond butter (or PB2) as my dessert before bed, but a couple of nights ago I was craving something a little bit sweeter!  I figured I could use almost the same ingredients as my mug muffin but make a cookie, so that’s what I did, and boy was I happy with my treat.  It turned out FANTASTIC!

Here is the recipe:

Oatmeal PB Chocolate Chip Protein Cookie (For one!)  No sharing around here,  Make your own if you want one  🙂

IMG_20130903_220808

Ingredients:

cookie recipe

  • 2 tbsp vanilla protein powder
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 stevia packet
  • pinch baking powder
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tbsp chocolate chips (any kind you want)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

First, mix dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Add in the milk until a cookie dough consistency forms.  Stir  in peanut butter and chocolate chips.  Spray a separate bowl with non stick cooking spray and form dough into a flat cookie shape in the bottom of it.

Microwave for 1 minute.

cookie bite

Let cool, and enjoy!  You may omit the brown sugar and it would probably be just as good, which I may try next time.

What is your favorite “Midnight Snack”?

