Good Morning!

There are so many diets out there :  Atkins, Southbeach, Jenny Craig (does that still exist? Probably!) Low Carb, High Carb, Paleo, etc etc…

Source

What is the right kind of “diet” for you, or for me?  Well for me the answer is:  NONE!I 

I don’t follow a specific diet plan although I do love certain Paleo recipes, low carb recipes, and even gluten free recipes (even though I don’t eat all gluten free all the time).  What am I getting to here?

You must EAT what is RIGHT for YOU and your BODY!  PS>  Not everyone is the same!  What may work for me may not work for Sally, or Bill or Susan, you following?

The other day my dad said, “What are you on a diet?”  I replied: NO, I am not on a diet, but I already had a pumpkin donut this morning so I am going to skip the ice cream tonight!  I just try to listen to my body and eat as clean as possible.

I read a GREAT article on Lindsay’s blog a little while back called “Is a Calorie just a Calorie?” and it really put things into perspective for me.  It is a great article and I suggest you read it!  Basically, she talkS about eating WHOLE FOODS, including nutrients and vitamins and avoiding those “sugar free” not so great for you options.

The writer, Amy, follows a 90% Principle: “Considering that I eat about 5 meals a day including snacks, that makes for 35 meals per week. 10% of those meals (3-4) I allow myself to go off-plan and have the full-fat, full-sugar version of what I crave.   With this restriction-free philosophy, I’ve been able to maintain my lower body fat percentage without feeling deprived!  Some people can even do it with 80% clean.”  Source

Source

I really like what Amy says about the 90% principle so that’s what I have been trying to follow lately, and If I go off path it’s not that big of a deal.  I want to enjoy life, but I also love eating and drinking and socializing  🙂

This brings me to an awesome link up from my friend Becky over at OlivesnWine called Treat Yourself Tuesday!

Treat Yourself Tuesday Badge

Here are Some things I may indulge or treat myself to this week:

  • I really want another pumpkin donut!  This is the one I had on Saturday and I’ve been dreaming about it!

IMG_20130921_091438

  • Maybe a Latte from Starbucks?
  • Some alcohol this weekend (Im not a huge drinker anyway but its a friend’s birthday!)
  • Cupcake?

These are just some ideas that may satisfy my sweet tooth 🙂

And then I found these at Kroger:  So that started my #treatyourselftuesday!  You have to treat yourself every once in a while!

IMG_20130923_175627

How are you listening to your body to promote health?  Do you follow any rules/diet plans?

How are you treating yourself lately?

PSS.  Nikki’s Coconut Butter just released their new flavor:  Pumpkin Spice Donut!

Pumpkin Spiced Donut

Source

Preorder yours today!

Have a great week everybody!

